Great Moments in Musicals: Labyrinth

It’s October! In celebration of this spookiest of months, I want to ask you, ladies and gentlemen of the Internet, if you remember the days when the Disney Channel would show Labyrinth around Halloween. Those were good days. I don’t know if Labyrinth is really a Halloween movie, though it does have spooky moments, but I don’t really need much excuse to proclaim my love for it unabashedly. I’ve been watching this movie regularly since I was a child, and I never get tired of it. In fact, I’m watching it RIGHT NOW. True story.

I’ve chosen to celebrate this particular Great Moment because it illustrates just what I love about Labyrinth–it’s whatever you need it to be depending on your age. When I was little, I had no idea what was going on in this scene, but it looked very pretty, and Sarah had a poofy dress, and that was all I needed. Years later, as an adolescent, I actually paid attention and listened to the lyrics and realized that whoa, David Bowie likes her likes her, and very suddenly, this happy fantasy movie became a coming-of-age story as well. I possibly take this movie much more seriously than is justified. Anyway, Happy October!

–YoSaffBridge

Leave a comment

Filed under clips, great moments in musicals, movies

Leave a Reply

