TV Theme Songs, the 90s, and me

I love theme songs.  “But they take away time from the show,” you say.  “But they’re corny,” you say.  “But it’s the same thing every week, who cares,” you say.

Well, suck it, because theme songs are awesome.

I believe this deep and abiding love began as a young cartoon fan.  The late 80s/early 90s were an awesome time for theme songs on children’s shows.  Sometimes, this pops into my head for no reason at all.  I will never escape it.

Then there was those cartoons that had that very distinct early 90s sound to them.  (That’s not a knock, because I rocked out to these as a kid.  It’s also possible I rocked out to them while finding the videos to post here).  There was Goof Troop, Darkwing Duck, Rescue Rangers…  Later on it was Hey Arnold and the Angry Beavers.  It wasn’t just cartoons.  There was Clarissa.  There was Salute Your Shorts.   I could go on.

I don’t know if it’s that connection to the pure joy of an 8 year old when her favorite cartoon is coming on, but theme songs still make him happy, still get me into the ride frame of mind for a show.  Also, while I don’t dance around with the same gusto of an 8 year old, I totally flail around awkwardly like the awkward person that I am.  But I do so joyfully.

In fact, the more I think about it, the more it seems my favorite comedies, especially, seem to share one thing: a fantastic opening credit sequence (even if they aren’t all “theme songs” in the Gilligan’s Island mold).

There’s my favorite in a long time, the opening credits to How I Met Your Mother (no, seriously, watch this and try NOT to bop your head along.  Go ahead, I’ll wait).

There’s my old standby, the Office theme song, which was my ringtone for quite a while, until I broke my phone in half and had to get a new one this Christmas.

There’s ALSO, Parks & Recreation.  This one is a lot of fun.  Honestly, it was sort of the saving grace for the show for me last season (I am, as I’ve mentioned, a sucker for good opening credits.  And Amy Poehler and Mike Schur gave me hope).  Incidentally, I think this show has approved A LOT this season.  It made me laugh hard the last two weeks, and the theme song is still a lot of fun.

And I come to the real inspiration for this post: Psych.  The original theme is fun and I always bounce along, but the really fantastic thing they do is, occasionally, adapt the theme to the week’s episode.

That’s how you got the theme in Spanish for “Lights, Cameras, Homicidio” (which is, by the way, one of my favorite episodes of Psych ever).

Then a few weeks ago, they had a Bollywood style version partially in Hindi.

And last week.  Oh last week.  Last week they had, I SWEAR TO GOD, Boyz II Men rerecord the theme.  BOYZ II MEN.  And it was amazing.  (AND I can’t find any embeddable video for this so, just click the link because it is so worth it).

So there you go, the 90s (Oh Boyz II Men, I loved you guys) once again, making the Theme Song better in every way.

— carmhelga

2 Comments

Filed under clips, television

2 responses to “TV Theme Songs, the 90s, and me

  1. YoSaffBridge

    I just love that the Gummi Bear theme song pops in your head at random times. That makes me happy.

    I need to watch Psych.

  2. lizaanne42

    love the Psych. You know what we need? We need a cd collection of all of the Psych theme songs.

Leave a Reply

