Best Friends Forever

demi and selenaI have to admit something. I’m kind of addicted to Disney Channel gossip. I  may not listen to the Jonas Brothers, but I’m still vaguely interested to know whom they’re dating. It’s a sickness, I know, but I just feel the need to be aware of these things. Maybe because I wasn’t really into the boy bands and starlets of my own tweendom, I’m compensating now by following these young people’s lives as though I were a thirteen-year-old.

But I don’t recall there being anyone like Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato back in my day. We seem to be obsessed with feuding starlets–Hilary Duff vs. Lindsay Lohan, Miley Cyrus vs. Selena Gomez–so it’s delightful to have two girls who are genuine best friends. There’s so  much cattiness in the entertainment world, but these two young ladies have a female camaraderie that shows up rarely not just in gossip magazines, but also in fiction. Considering how many “bromance” movies there have been lately, I feel like close female friendships aren’t getting any love. These two girls are role models, and it makes me happy that they’re role modeling a sense of sisterhood and friendship between girls rather than the back-stabbing, cat-fighting mold we see so often in both movies and tabloids. This is a good time to be a tween girl, so you won’t blame me too much, I hope, if I pretend to be one every once in a while.

–YoSaffBridge

1 Comment

Filed under television

One response to “Best Friends Forever

  1. Julius B.

    Sanguine remarks on a less-noticed, positive change of wind. It’s true, Disney Channel’s really selling the two’s BFF thing!

    NOW to evaluate them sequentially in the spirit of imposed rivalry and acrimony, for my own personal satisfaction:

    Lovato’s “Sonny With a Chance” has proven actually to be not too bad! But Gomez’s “Wizards of Waverly Place”… oh man, it’s just SO CONSISTENTLY AWFUL.

Leave a Reply

