We will now pause in our celebration of Sitcom Week…

… to talk about THIS.

“GLEE,” according to press notes, is an “inspiring one-hour musical comedy that follows an optimistic high school teacher as he tries to transform the school’s Glee Club and inspire a group of ragtag performers to make it to the biggest competition of them all: Nationals.”

I really have no idea how I’ve missed any of the buzz about this show, which is being created by Ryan Murphy, who created Nip/Tuck and (more awesomely, in my opinion) Popular.

The premise is enough to get me interested– a television musicomedy?  I’m so there– now word comes via Ausiello that Kristin Chenoweth and Victor Garber– aka two of my favorite people ever– are going to have recurring roles.

Garber is just freaking amazing in everything he does, although I have my fondest memories of him kicking ass and taking names in Alias.  And I am so glad Cheno found some place– besides her David E. Kelley vehicle, “Legally Mad,” about which I’m feeling sort of dubious– to show off her comedic skills, and her fantastic voice.

Spy Daddy

Cheno

This all comes on the heals of the slightly less exciting news that High School Musical will return for a fourth (original cast-less) outing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Kenny Ortega, and the awesome so-bad-its-good-ness that is the HSM franchise but will

he strike gold again and find someone who is willing to do THIS?

— carmhelga

1 Comment

Filed under television

One response to “We will now pause in our celebration of Sitcom Week…

  1. YoSaffBridge

    Yes! I actually knew about this, because there are other Broadway people in it (including Matthew Morrison, who is quite dreamy). I didn’t know about Garber or the Cheno until today, though. So exciting!

    About HSM, I wonder if the Tiz is going to be in it. They kind of set up for her coming back in the movie. If she’s there, I’m there. Well, I’ll be there anyway, but with even more enthusiasm.

Leave a Reply

