Boba Fett Is Overrated

Yeah, that’s right. I said it. I’ll say it again. boba-fettBOBA FETT IS OVERRATED. I mean, seriously. Putting aside the prequels, he has like, five lines. And I think that’s actually an overstatement. What? What is it? Why is he such a big deal? Is it the shiny helment? Yeah, it’s okay. Not cool enough to make me think he’s one of the greatest movie characters of ALL TIME, Empire magazine. (And don’t even get me started on the fact that he’s ranked above Princess Leia. Actually, that whole list is so masculinely-skewed, it’s not even funny. It’s downright insulting.) Is it because bounty hunters are cool? Is that enough to deserve legions of devoted fans? Yeah, I know he was clever enough to track Han and the Falcon, but let’s just put things in perspective. He’s hired by Vader, he finds Han, he hangs with Jabba for a while, and then he dies. The end. Explain to me how this is enough to make people think he’s such an amazing character. He’s pretty cool for a really minor character, maybe, but where does all the adoration come from? I don’t even understand it. Bounty hunters aren’t that cool. Especially bounty hunters who have, like, no personality, no motivation, and very few lines, none of which are particularly cool. Also, his name is BOBA. That’s like the least-badass name ever. Give me Darth Vader or Princess Leia anyday over Boba freaking Fett.

–YoSaffBridge

3 Comments

Filed under movies, star wars

3 responses to “Boba Fett Is Overrated

  1. Pingback: The week that was: Living up to our name « This is random, but…

  2. Jake

    …I don’t think you understand. Boba Fett is the epitome of awesome minor characters, and thats what makes him so good. Yes, he only has a few lines. Yes he’s only seen three or four times. Yes, he wears cool shit. Thats what makes him awesome. You’re complaining about a character in the STAR WARS movies. I love Star Wars, but as a movie, they’re not that great. Also, keep in mind he filled an archetypal role in the movie. He was THE bounty hunter. We saw a few others, but he was featured. He’s the one who caught Han. Not IG-88, not Bossk. HE caught Han Solo, a man who’d been ale to elude capture by the Empire AND Jabba the Hutt for almost five years. Smuggler was almost impossible to catch.

    I rest.

    • YoSaffBridge

      Yeah, I know I don’t understand. I’ve heard arguments like the ones you’ve presented, but I can’t seem to muster up any enthusiasm for Boba Fett, even as a minor character. I guess when it comes down to it, bounty hunters (even particularly good ones) don’t do anything for me, so I’ve never understood why he’s cool or awesome or even interesting. But thank you, I suppose, for your explanation.

Leave a Reply

