I dance more than you know

On Monday night’s episode of How I met your mother, Jason Segal’s character, Marshall came down with a hip injury, which the doctor called “dancer’s hip,” but which Marshall attributed to his basketball playing.  Later, after being mocked pretty righteously by his friends, he confesses to his wife…

“I dance more than you know.”

Lily: What?

Marshal: I dance… more than you know.

Lily: I don’t know how to respond to that!

Marshall goes on to explain that when something happens, he needs to move, so he’ll go off by himself and, well, dance.

I still crack up at that line, and I’ve watched that scene several times.  Something about the intense, serious way both Marshall and Lily treat the situation just kills me.

It reminded me of another of my favorite Pushing Daisies moments, when Olive breaks into a version of “Hopelessly Devoted to You” as she closes up the Pie Hole.  Here’s the narrator, Jim Dale’s explanation:

Olive often imagined there was an orchestra in her heart. Music heard only by her, except when her heart broke open and it spilled out into the world.

In any case, I love both of those scenes because they make me feel less weird for occasionally singing to myself and.. well, no, I don’t dance more than you know.  But I AM going to work that into casual conversation if it kills me.

— carmhelga

Leave a comment

Filed under television

Leave a Reply

